top of page
  • zestfulonline

Travelling solo: fighting fear

Travelling alone can be an incredible experience, but it can also be daunting, especially when you're in a foreign country. When I decided to embark on a solo adventure through South East Asia, I was both excited and apprehensive. I knew that I would be experiencing a culture vastly different from my own, but I was also nervous about the idea of being alone in a foreign land. One of my biggest fears was the possibility of feeling lonely or bored on my travels. As I stepped off the plane in Bangkok, Thailand, my nerves were in overdrive. However, it wasn't long before I realized that my fear was unfounded. On my first day in the bustling city, I decided to join a tour group to explore the local temples. As I walked among the ancient structures and glistening gold Buddha statues, I was struck by the sheer beauty and energy of the place. My anxiety began to dissipate as I struck up a conversation with a fellow traveler, a solo female from Germany who was also exploring the region on her own.

Another fear I had was the prospect of being lost and stranded in an unfamiliar place. This fear came true one day when I decided to venture off the beaten path and explore the back alleys of Da Nang in Vietnam. I found myself hopelessly lost, with no idea how to find my way back to my hostel. As I walked through the maze of narrow streets and colorful storefronts, I was struck by a feeling of disorientation and vulnerability.

However, this experience taught me that locals are often more than happy to help out a lost traveler. After stopping to ask for directions, a friendly local shop owner pointed me in the right direction and even offered me a cold drink to help combat the sweltering heat.

Eating alone was another fear I had to overcome. In many cultures, dining is a social event, and the idea of sitting alone at a restaurant can be daunting. However, I quickly learned that many restaurants and street vendors in South East Asia are more than happy to accommodate solo diners. One of my fondest memories was enjoying a delicious bowl of pho in a small street-side eatery in Hanoi, Vietnam, while I was waiting for the bus to the border to depart. Despite not speaking a word of English, the friendly proprietor smiled warmly and offered me a seat at the communal table. As I slurped my steaming hot broth, I struck up a conversation with the locals and even managed to learn a few basic phrases in Vietnamese.

While traveling solo can be intimidating, it also gives you the opportunity to connect with yourself and the world around you. As I have journeyed through South East Asia, I have found that the moments of fear and vulnerability have been outweighed by the joy and wonder of exploring new and vibrant cultures.





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page